What we did and wrapup


Hi folks. As promised I have posted some details on what we did. I hope this helps you and if you have any specific questions – please, post a response – I am happy to help if I can.

https://misterivf.wordpress.com/what-we-did/

Thank you all for your responses. Mrs IVF and I read over then and really appreciate the support you gave us. It has felt very weird the last few weeks thinking we might have left IVF land. We don’t fit in with other people who are pregnant, but can understand its time to move on to somewhere else. I feel like a guy who dropped a huge fart at a party, and pissed everyone off, and that everyone knows that its me who dropped the offending gas.

I know declaring pregnancy is a mixed blessing on these pages in terms of happiness that someone may beat this thing, but at the same time, the jealously is there, so as a reminder, (and we aren’t there yet), we had 5 cycles, we overcame thin lining, a miscarriage (2 if you count the chemical), 4 bad results, crap sperm and the mental anguish that hung over me for a very long time on that (and probably still does to a degree) , letting Mrs IVF down with my crap nuts, all the admin issues along the way, the waiting, all the endless testing, Mrs IVF fainting in one of the exams, the clueless friends, the fertiles, continual bad results from genetic tests (1 year and a half of them), the botched retrievals (had to be!) where we only got 5 eggs… the list goes on. Not as tough as many journeys out there, tougher than others, but its not a competition.

Thanks for the encouraging words to “blog on” from some of you but will give it a break for a while. I might come back to it, but I have signed up to do some volunteer work and if anything, might right a book of how we got to here. I just don’t think the male story is told well if at all. I wish I had a book as some background before I started this journey. You just have no idea what you are in for. Would appreciate if you think this is a good idea.

Lastly, here’s a link to our 1st scan results if you want to know. More than ok if you dont: https://misterivf.wordpress.com/scan-results/

7 Responses

  1. Hi Mr. IVF! I just left you a comment on your results link too, but just wanted to say that you absolutely should write a book on this! My Mr. IVF is both a writer and in publishing, so if you need any advice from him, don’t hesitate to ask (well, I am volunteering him without asking, but I’m sure he would be willing – he agrees that there really isn’t much out there for you men….)
    All the best!!

  2. Good to hear the update from you, and that things are going so well. I’m miss your humor, but do understand you will have your hands full for the next…um…20 years or so. Congrats!!

  3. omg. I have been in my funk for so long I didn’t even know that you had decided how many to transfer!!!!!! I have to go back and do some reading. WOW!!!!!!

  4. Many congrats to you and the Mrs. and I wish you all the best on the rest of your journey!

  5. Hello –

    I sincerely hope you do not mind me emailing you out of the clear blue but I saw your blog and had a question…maybe two?

    First of all…many many congratulations to you and Mrs IVF! It IS stories like these that keep us going and keeps hope alive.

    My husband and I are headed to CCRM this week after 3 failed cycle here in NJ. Specifically I am nervous about the fact that we have been told we should consider monitoring locally and I woud have no idea what center would help us with that. i do’t believe my last center would be a good “team player” in working with CCRM. How did you handle this?
    – R

    • Rose,

      I take emails out of the clear blue or any other color for that matter. Happy to offer some thoughts!

      Ok – on the remote monitoring thing, there are 2 things to cover. You need to ship day 3 blood work to CCRM and then there is ongoing monitoring from when you are home. Apart from day 3 they are happy to just get the results. Day 3 they want to play with it themselves.

      So for the day 3 we “rented” a kit where we can ship it back to them. I recall Mrs IVF being all over this and making sure she personally handed it to Mr Fedex, but it was really easy in the end. The kit was around $70 from memory (wild guess).

      As for ongoing, our existing clinic were more than happy to help. So that’s your best bet. If your clinic isn’t up for doing that drop me a note back and I will drop you an email with our NJ clinics name and you can try them.

      Best of luck for the trip. I really hope you get success. Also – I highly recommend the Homestead Suites at Inverness. Excellent base for the CCRM visits. Its just 5 mins up the road and really comfy.

      Mr IVF

      • Hi Mr. IVF,

        Hope you are still on cloud nine about your news and your feet haven’t yet touched the ground!

        My Mr. and I had a great trip to CCRM and are ready to proceed ! We didn’t stay at the Inverness but maybe will next time. The beds at the Marriot Suites were lumpy!
        As I suspected, my local RE’s office was not terribly receptive about doing monitoring for an outside center.
        My pm is caccyalater@aol.com. I’m really appreciate your referrral to a center that was more open minded.

        Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

